Gov eases travel to SA for new visa-free countries

South Africa has scrapped visa requirements for various countries, including New Zealand.

In 2017, in what was considered a tit-for-tat move, South Africa's Department of Home Affairs applied visa restrictions to citizens of New Zealand. Operators at the time raised concerns that this would mean a significant drop in visitors.

These concerns were founded when Stats SA's arrival numbers showed that between 2017 and 2018 visitor numbers from New Zealand dropped by 11%. The trend continued into 2019.

New Zealand, among other countries, has now been added to SA's list of visa-free countries. The changes were announced by Aaron Motsoaledi, Minister of Home Affairs, at the Budget Vote 2019.

The other countries include:

- Qatar

- United Arab Emirates

- New Zealand

- Saudi Arabia

- Cuba

- Ghana

- Sao Tome and Principe

Motsoaledi also announced that Home Affairs would increase the number of staff working for the department by "two and a half times" to process visas in both China and India.


More News